Trending: Call for Papers Volume 4 | Issue 4: International Journal of Advanced Legal Research [ISSN: 2582-7340]

Most Important Awards of 2020-21


 An award is generally termed as something that denotes an accomplishment. Every year many individuals are awarded various kinds of awards for their contributions in various fields to help the society at large. 

The main objective of giving out awards is to give recognition to the people who have put in their effort and motivate them and others to do something extraordinary to help the world grow. Awards act as a motivation for many and for others it sets a stage of earning respect from the entire world.

Important Awards of 2020-21

Nobel Prize

Harvey J, Charles M. Rice, and Michael Houghton were awarded the Nobel Prize in the field of physiology for the discovery of the Hepatitis C virus. Roger Penrose was awarded a Nobel Prize in physics for the research on black hole theory which was announced by the Koreans. Andrea Ghez is the fourth woman to be awarded a Nobel Prize in Physics. Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna won a Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their discovery in gene technology. Louise Gluck was awarded a Nobel Prize in Literature for ‘Unmistakable’ poetic voice. Robert B. Wilson and Paul R. Milgrom were awarded a Nobel Prize in Economic Science for the improvements in the auction theory.
The World Food Programme(WFP) won a Nobel Prize 2020 in peace.

Best Film Award

Among 74 participant countries, a total of 220 films were shown at the Dhaka International Film Festival. The theme of this year was “Better Film-Better Audience-Better Society”. An Iranian film, ‘Castle of Dreams’ which was directed by Reza Mirkarimi won the Best Film Award.

Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar

India’s current President presented Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar for which 22 children were selected among the lot.

Grammy Awards

This award recognises the best recordings, compositions, artists, etc. The album of the year category winner was Billie Eilish’s work ‘When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?’

Professor AN Bhaduri Memorial Lecture Award

Dr. Susanta Kar is honoured with this award of Professor AN Bhaduri Memorial Lecture Award. This award is mainly given for biological chemistry, and science related to parasitic infection.

International Children Peace Prize

Sadat Rahman from Bangladesh was awarded the International Children Peace Prize for creating a mobile application named Cyber Teams which helps in curbing the problems like cyberbullying, etc.

Vatayan Lifetime Achievement Award

India’s Union Education Minister, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank was awarded Vatayan Lifetime Achievement Award for his literary works. Aditya Vikram Birla Kala Shikhar and Kalakiran Puraskar
Naseeruddin Shah was honoured with the award of Aditya Vikram Birla Kala Shikhar and Kalakiran Puraskar. This award was presented in Annual Sangeet Kala Kendra Awards.

Booker Prize

A Scottish writer, Douglas Stuart won the Booker Prize for his debut film novel ‘Shuggie Bain’ and also won 50,000 euro as the prize money.

Raksha Mantri Trophy

India’s Defence Minister, Shri Rajnath Singh presented Raksha Mantri Trophy for the best common hospitals, Armed Forces Medical Services(AFMS). Further, Armed Forces Medical Services(AFMS) was also acknowledged for its incredible services.

Swachh Bharat Award

Indian Union Jal Shakti Minister, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat presented the Swachh Bharat Award in the category of drinking water and cleanliness. This award is launched by the Government of India and the top three missions previously were Swachh Sundar Samudik Shauchalaya, Samudik Shauchalaya Abhiyaan, and Gandagi Mukt Bharat.

Prani Mitra Award

A biologist at the Nandankanan Zoological Park, Rajesh Kumar Mohapatra was awarded Prani Mitra Award for his conservation and zoo management research.

America’s Young Scientist Challenge

Anika Chebrolu won 2020 3M America’s Young Scientist Challenge for the discovery of stopping the spread of Covid-19 virus. She was also awarded prize money of 25,000 dollars.

50th Kerala State Film Awards

This award was announced by Kerala’s Culture Minister, AK Balan and declared ‘Vasanthi’ as the Best Film. Moreover, the Best Popular Film was awarded to ‘Kumbalangi Nights’.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Indo-American Chamber of Commerce(IACC) presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Ratan Tata. This award was announced at the IACC’s virtual event of covid crusader award.

Outstanding Young Person Award

The Indian origin U.K based plastic surgeon Dr. Jajini Varghese has been named as an ‘Outstanding Young Person of the World’ and awarded with Outstanding Young Person Award for he incredible scientific contribution for fighting breast cancer. 

Solar Awards

After the establishment of the framework of the International Solar Alliance (ISA) in countries, it is the first time that ISA was presented in its third committee. The three categories of these awards were:

Visvesvaraya award: This award was won by Japan for its maximum floating solar capacity.
Kalpana Chawla award: This award was won by Dr. Bhim Singh for his contribution in the field of solar energy.
Diwakar award: This award recognises those institutions which work for the benefit of differently-abled people.


Kerala won the United Nations Inter-Agency Task Force Award(UNIATF) for its contribution towards sustainable development goals.

Great Immigrants Award

Siddhartha Mukherjee and Raj Chetty were honoured and awarded the Great Immigrants award for their contributions to fight the Covid-19 pandemic. Siddhartha Mukherjee is an Indian American Pulitzer Prize-winning Physician Author whereas Raj Chetty is a Harvard Economist.


Hence, giving out awards by renowned personalities at eminent platforms motivates others and people who are awarded feel the worth of their contribution which encourages them to work more diligently towards their future goals.



Image Source
Author: Sneha Mahawar, Ramaiah Institute of Legal Studies.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *